Etta

Book Review: Wish Hunter (The Savannah River Series #1) (ARC)

Expected publication: June 1st 2021

Author: Jordan Riley Swan & Hero Bowen

Explore the dark underworld of wish hunting in the compelling first installment of this urban fantasy trilogy set in Savannah, Georgia—perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and V. E. Schwab.

Nadia Kaminski’s family has stolen wishes for generations, auctioning them off to skeevy business tycoons and politicians in back-alley deals. Their operation is simple enough. Find someone who gained a wish after saving a life. Trick the wisher into sharing a deep secret. Steal the wish.

And as a marriage counselor, Nadia has more access to people’s secrets than most.

But when Nadia comes across the perfect opportunity to steal a wish for herself, she takes it—and the rock star she’s stolen it from desperately wants his wish back.

As Nadia tries to figure out how to get rid of the cocky thorn in her side, she must face off against vengeful wish hunters, her all-too-powerful family, and the consequences of her own desires—because stealing wishes can be a deadly affair. 

Nadia Kaminski and her family are wish stealers, who are indebted to the Wish Master for 100 wishes. She is a young widow in Savannah, Georgia, whose husband was murdered almost a year prior to the beginning of the story. She works as a counselor to help fulfill the debt by taking wishes from unsuspecting people. The events of the story begin with Nadia stealing a wish and she is in the process of handing it over to the Wish Master.

Unfortunately, there is an incident where the wish is lost and a new wish is granted to another person, Miles. Nadia takes his wish and Miles is determined to get it back. The tale follows Nadia and Miles as the events set into motion with the wish now have consequences that need to be dealt with and need to be fixed for everything to be right in the world. Throughout their interactions, Miles and Nadia get to know one another and their relationship grows from enemies to possibly more.

Additionally, there is a lot of family drama in this story as Nadia has complicated relationships with her sister, mother, and grandmother. There are a lot of hidden secrets, so Nadia does not know who to trust. Kaleena, Nadia’s sister was an intriguing character and I loved getting to know her in this story. She will be very interesting to learn more about even more as the series continues.

Overall, this was an excellent start to a series with a lot of potential. The plot and the pacing were great and I found myself wanting to learn more about the story and characters. The story does start off a little slow, as it took me about a quarter to a third of the way into my reading to fully get into it, but once I was there, I was completely invested. There are a lot of twists and turns along the way leading to an inconclusive ending leaving you wanting to move on to the second novel in the series. It was definitely a great read and I greatly anticipate the release of the next novel!

**I want to give a special thank you to Book Sirens and the authors, Jordan Riley Swan & Hero Bowen, for a review copy of this entertaining sequel. The opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.**

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Wish Hunter (The Savannah River Series #1) (ARC)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s