Etta

~ #SixForSunday: Spring TBR Books~

#SixforSunday is… it’s really just that. You choose 6 books (normally) that you’d choose to fit whatever the prompt is that week. This meme is hosted by A Little but a Lot and you can follow the link to find the prompts for January to March. I’ll also post this month’s prompt’s at the end of the post.

This week’s prompt: Books on your Spring TBR

May’s theme is Spring Into Action. For the final fifth week, I will try and highlight six novels from my TBR.


This week was difficult as I have an endless TBR list. I went with a mix of ARCs, sequels that I need to get to, and one new series that I’ve heard great things about and hope they all turn out well.


**My choices are in no particular order. You can click on their covers to explore their Goodreads entries.**

1. One Last Stop

I loved Red, White & Royal Blue and have heard of great things about this novel. I have high hopes that this one will turn out well.

From the New York Times bestselling author of Red, White & Royal Blue comes a new romantic comedy that puts a queer spin on Kate & Leopold.

A 23-year-old realises her subway crush is displaced from 1970’s Brooklyn, and she must do everything in her power to help her – and try not to fall in love with the girl lost in time – before it’s too late . . .


2. For the Wolf (Wilderwood #1)

I love retellings! I am very curious to see how this Red Riding Hood one will turn out with a new twist on the wolf. As I have an ARC for this, most likely I will start this one ASAP!

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he’ll return the world’s captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn’t learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood-and her world-whole.


3. Storm and Fury (Harbinger #1)

The final novel, Grace and Glory, in this trilogy will be published on June 1st. I have heard relatively good things about this trilogy and am curious to give it a try. I still have to finish the Blood and Ash trilogy, but I want to read the ebooks for those and this series I have in audiobook.

Eighteen-year-old Trinity Marrow may be going blind, but she can see and communicate with ghosts and spirits. Her unique gift is part of a secret so dangerous that she’s been in hiding for years in an isolated compound fiercely guarded by Wardens—gargoyle shape-shifters who protect humankind from demons. If the demons discover the truth about Trinity, they’ll devour her, flesh and bone, to enhance their own powers.

When Wardens from another clan arrive with disturbing reports that something out there is killing both demons and Wardens, Trinity’s safe world implodes. Not the least because one of the outsiders is the most annoying and fascinating person she’s ever met. Zayne has secrets of his own that will upend her world yet again—but working together becomes imperative once demons breach the compound and Trinity’s secret comes to light. To save her family and maybe the world, she’ll have to put her trust in Zayne. But all bets are off as a supernatural war is unleashed…


4. The Soulmate Equation

The final novel, Grace and Glory, in this trilogy will be published on June 1st. I have heard relatively good things about this trilogy and am curious to give it a try. I still have to finish the Blood and Ash trilogy, but I want to read the ebooks for those and this series I have in audiobook.

Single mom Jess Davis is a data and statistics wizard, but no amount of number crunching can convince her to step back into the dating world. Raised by her grandparents—who now help raise her seven-year-old daughter, Juno—Jess has been left behind too often to feel comfortable letting anyone in. After all, her father’s never been around, her hard-partying mother disappeared when she was six, and her ex decided he wasn’t “father material” before Juno was even born. Jess holds her loved ones close, but working constantly to stay afloat is hard…and lonely.

But then Jess hears about GeneticAlly, a buzzy new DNA-based matchmaking company that’s predicted to change dating forever. Finding a soulmate through DNA? The reliability of numbers: This Jess understands.

At least she thought she did, until her test shows an unheard-of 98% compatibility with another subject in the database: GeneticAlly’s founder, Dr. River Pena. This is one number she can’t wrap her head around, because she already knows Dr. Pena. The stuck-up, stubborn man is without a doubt not her soulmate. But GeneticAlly has a proposition: Get to know him and we’ll pay you. Jess—who is barely making ends meet—is in no position to turn it down, despite her skepticism about the project and her dislike for River. As the pair are dragged from one event to the next as the “Diamond” pairing that could make GeneticAlly a mint in stock prices, Jess begins to realize that there might be more to the scientist—and the science behind a soulmate—than she thought.

Funny, warm, and full of heart, The Soulmate Equation proves that the delicate balance between fate and choice can never be calculated.


5. A Touch of Malice (Hades & Persephone #3)

The third novel in this series released in May. I still need to finish the second, as I only read the first, but most likely I will finish the series, even if it is not perfect.

Persephone and Hades are engaged. In retaliation, Demeter summons a snowstorm that cripples New Greece, and refuses to lift the blizzard unless her daughter calls off her engagement.

When the Olympians intervene, Persephone finds her future in the hands of ancient gods, and they are divided. Do they allow Persephone to marry Hades and go to war with Demeter or prohibit their union and take up arms against the God of the Dead?

Nothing is certain but the promise of war.


6. The Betrayals

I think this novel first ended up on my TBR as I love the cover! After reading the description, I figured this one would be a fun read for June, if I can manage it.

If everything in your life was based on a lie
Would you risk it all to tell the truth?


At Montverre, an exclusive academy tucked away in the mountains, the best and brightest are trained for excellence in the grand jeu: an arcane and mysterious contest. Léo Martin was once a student there, but lost his passion for the grand jeu following a violent tragedy. Now he returns in disgrace, exiled to his old place of learning with his political career in tatters.

Montverre has changed since he studied there, even allowing a woman, Claire Dryden, to serve in the grand jeu’s highest office of Magister Ludi. When Léo first sees Claire he senses an odd connection with her, though he’s sure they have never met before.

Both Léo and Claire have built their lives on lies. And as the legendary Midsummer Game, the climax of the year, draws closer, secrets are whispering in the walls… 


May – Spring into action
23rd – Best character arcs/growth
30th – Books on your Spring TBR

June – Rainbows make the world brighter!
6 – A rainbow of books
13 – LGBTQIA+ stories you’d recommend
20 – Favourite LGBTQIA+ characters
27 – LGBTQIA+ stories on your TBR/TBB (to be bought)


I can’t believe that is the last Sunday list for May! As I said above, I have thousands of other novels on my TBR. Since I do not have seasonal or monthly TBR lists, usually, I went with some novels that recently were released and then created this list from that starting point. I am not sure if I will get to all of them in June, but I hope to at least go through most of them! How did you interpret this week’s topic? Feel free to sound off in the comments as I also explore around to check out everyone else’s lists!

2 thoughts on “~ #SixForSunday: Spring TBR Books~

Leave a Reply to chelsea @ your bookish friend Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s