Audiobook Review: Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns #1)

Published September 20th 2016

Author: Kendare Blake

Narrator: Amy Landon

Audiobook Length: 9 hours 52 minutes

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown. 

[Queens of Fennbirn (The Young Queens #0.1 & The Oracle Queen #0.2) Reviews]

Three Dark Crowns is the first novel in the series of the same name. This series, like the Red Queen one, was on my radar for a while and I finally got to the first in the series when I finished Queens of Fennbirn, the prequel novella collection. Although the collection was okay, it was enough to make me curious about the main series and to read this novel. I did the audiobook version and the narrator did a great job voices all of the different characters.

The story is set on the island of Fennbirn, which is located off of the Mainland. The island is ruled by queens, who have suitors at their sides. The Goddess selects points in time where the ruling queen will give birth to triplets. As there only can be one ruler, each child is given an area of talent and they must eventually come together when they are 16 to fight to the death with the last one standing to become the new queen. The three women in this story are triplets, Katherine, Mirabella, and Arsinoe. They were raised together until they were 6 and then they were separated to spend the last ten years perfecting their talents.

Mirabella is the elemental queen, where she can manipulate the four elements: earth, wind, fire, and water. Next is Katherine, who is the poisoner queen. She is supposed to be able to poison others and not be affected by poisons herself. Finally, there is Arsinoe, the naturalist queen, who has power within plants and animals. Mirabella is the strongest with her talent, while the other two are finding some difficulties within their talents.

Although there is not much plot-wise to this novel, there is a lot of backstory and character set-up given to each of the three sisters. Additionally, there are a lot of side characters that each has their own stories. There are some romances that are set up to be explored throughout the rest of the series. Additionally, there are a lot of secrets and plot twists that all give the series a lot of potential. Together there is a lot of possibility with the rest of the series and the last quarter of this novel is where the action started. It ends on a cliffhanger, so now I cannot wait to read the next novel to see what happens next!

10 thoughts on “Audiobook Review: Three Dark Crowns (Three Dark Crowns #1)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s