Etta

~ Blog Tour: Love on Location – Review ~


Can movie magic lead to a real-life romance?

Published August 19th 2021

When Laurel Martin is hired to rewrite the script for a new timeslip blockbuster, she expects the historical advisor hired by the studio to be an elderly academic who won’t interfere too much with her writing. But when she meets Professor Jason Harding, a young and unexpectedly handsome archaeologist who has some ideas of his own about the script, she realises the job isn’t going to be as simple as she first thought.

As their work takes them from arguing over historical details in a cramped London office to discovering the hidden beauties of a Greek island, Laurel and Jason’s relationship starts to echo the romance of their script.

But with Laurel’s actor ex-boyfriend making trouble at home, and constant issues with the volatile director, will Laurel and Jason ever be able to write the happy ending for their own story?

Escape with this charming, summery romance, perfect for fans of Sue Moorcroft and Miranda Dickinson.

You Can Purchase the Book: Amazon


Lynne Shelby writes contemporary women’s fiction/romance. Her debut novel, French Kissing, was published when it won a national writing competition. She has worked at a variety of jobs from stable girl to child actors’ chaperone to legal administrator, but now writes full time. When not writing or reading, Lynne can usually be found at the theatre watching a musical, or exploring a foreign city – Paris, New York, Rome, Copenhagen, Seattle, Athens – writer’s notebook, camera and sketchbook in hand. She lives in London with her husband, and has three adult children who live nearby.

Author Links:

WebsiteInstagramFacebook | Twitter


Love on Location transports the reader to Ancient Greece with the characters working on the creation of fictional feature film, Swords and Sandals, a time-slip romance featuring modern-day Chloe and historical Lysander. Before going into the actual novel, I would definitely not be opposed to someone actually making this movie! It sounds like a very sweet story, even if the main characters are presented with the 27th version of the draft script to try to create a masterpiece. Even though all the edits the two characters give the original script, I am sure that I will still willingly spend money to watch this movie on the big screen.

The main character, 29-years-old Laurel Martin is a screenwriter looking for her big break. She has been involved in smaller projects, but nothing as large scale as a feature film. She has an on-off, currently on, relationship with her actor boyfriend Conor, who is preparing for his role in a play. Their story is interesting as I wish that there were a little more background to how the two work as a couple. From my perspective, I honestly could not see why Laurel would be with him aside from convenience and loyalty from their shared past. She lives with her best friend, Amber Wallace, an aspiring actor. Amber and Laurel have a fantastic friendship where they are involved in each other’s lives, while still having some space. When Laurel receives a call to work on a new movie from Marcus Farley of Farley Productions, which he runs with his wife Shannon, she is ecstatic to rewrite the script for the love story.

Laurel, however, will not be working alone as the director, Drew Brightman, has brought in another team member to add to the authenticity of the piece. Dr. Jason Harding is a 33-years-old lecturer of archeology at a local London university. Although he has never written a screenplay before, he is extremely knowledgeable in Ancient Greece. Jason’s companion character is his friend and colleague, Emily Page. While she is not as involved in the story as Amber, I loved that Jason had a friend to confide in during his portions of this duel-perspective story. As Laurel is very unsure about working with Jason, the two characters end up butting heads a lot as they try to put a new script together.

The two of them end up on the film’s location on the Greek Island of Kyros, where their professional tension seems to soften the more they get to know each other. Additionally, the two of them find that they have a growing attraction with the one major problem of Conor looming in the background. For me, I am surprised that the synopsis presents Conor as an ex as he is with Laurel for a lot longer than I would have anticipated. While I greatly disliked his character, it felt a little like a misrepresentation of the relationships and expectations within the story.

Overall, this delightful escapism read goes into the exploration of the behind the scenes pieces for creating a movie. It was very interesting to read about everything about the inner workings from the million rewrites, even if the director wants a tiny detail changed last minute, to just the actual filming in general. Laurel and Jason were both very likeable characters and I loved how they taught each other about their respective industries! Even before any romance was in the works for them, I enjoyed the two of them getting to know the other. It was evident that they formed a real bond over the course of the novel. As Lynne Shelby is a new-to-me author, I cannot wait to read more from her in the future!

**I give a special thank you to Rachel @rararesources,, the publisher, and the author for the opportunity to participate with this enjoyable novel via Netgalley. The opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.**

2 thoughts on “~ Blog Tour: Love on Location – Review ~

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s