Etta

~ First Lines Friday – #20 (October 22, 2021) ~

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words.

What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!


“It’s been eight long years since the Witch Collector took my sister.

Every harvest moon, he rides into our valley, black cloak whipping in the wind, and leads one of us to Winterhold, home of the immortal Frost King, to remain forever. It’s been this way for a century, and today is that day-Collecting Day. But the Witch Collector will not come for me. Of this, I’m certain. . . . ”


Do you recognize the lines?

Hint: This is the first novel in a thrilling romantic fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik, Sarah J. Maas, and Jennifer L. Armentrout. 


Hint 2: The title is referenced in the given quote.

This week’s book is:

The Witch Collector (The Witch Walker Trilogy #1) by Charissa Weaks!

Expected publication: November 2nd 2021

Raina Bloodgood has one desire: kill the Frost King and the Witch Collector who stole her sister. On Collecting Day, she means to exact murderous revenge, but a more sinister threat sets fire to her world. Rising from the ashes is the Collector, Alexus Thibault, the man she vowed to slay and the only person who can help save her sister.

Thrust into an age-old story of ice, fire, and ancient gods, Raina must abandon vengeance and aid the Witch Collector in saving the Frost King or let their empire—and her sister—fall into enemy hands. But the lines between good and evil blur, and Raina has more to lose than she imagined. What is she to do when the Witch Collector is no longer the villain who stole her sister, but the hero who’s stealing her heart?


When I was submitting another review to Netgalley, I randomly came across this novel. It sounded really interesting with some magic and revenge. I like to try and balance my “real world” novels with fantasy, so this novel fits perfectly as a balance to my TBR. I have a few other novels to get to before this one, but I hope to finish it soon. I hope it turns out well and I have a new trilogy to look forward to.


  • Have you read The Witch Collector or is it on your TBR?
  • What did you think of the first lines?

3 thoughts on “~ First Lines Friday – #20 (October 22, 2021) ~

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s