Mary A.

Review: The Women in Black

Released February 11, 2020; 224 pages

Author: Madeleine St. John

Overview from Barnes and Noble Website:

The women in black, so named for the black frocks they wear while working at Goode’s department store, are busy selling ladies’ dresses during the holiday rush. But they somehow find time to pursue other goals…

Patty, in her mid-thirties, has been working at Goode’s for years. Her husband, Frank, eats a steak for dinner every night, watches a few minutes of TV, and then turns in. Patty yearns for a baby, but Frank is always too tired for that kind of thing.

Sweet, unlucky Fay wants to settle down with a nice man, but somehow nice men don’t see her as marriage material.

Glamorous Magda runs the high-end gowns department. A Slovenian émigré, Magda is cultured and continental and hopes to open her own boutique one day.

Lisa, a clever and shy teenager, takes a job at Goode’s during her school break. Lisa wants to go to university and dreams of becoming a poet, but her father objects to both notions.

By the time the last marked-down dress is sold, all of their lives will be forever changed.

A pitch-perfect comedy of manners set during a pivotal era, and perfect for fans of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, The Women in Black conjures the energy of a city on the cusp of change and is a testament to the timeless importance of female friendship

Personal Review

No. Just no. I cannot fathom how such a book was published. I had to pass this book around the reading circle to make sure I was not having a stroke. The writing is nonsensical, the dialogue sounds like a child from primary school writing in their dream journal, and the story (oh the story!) had no flow and no real conclusion for any of the character. I have given a little leeway to the fact the author is Australian and I am going to walk away from this book and say that I am sure it is the Australian equivalent of Moby Dick (no need to contradict me, I am sticking with that theory). That is it. This book will sit on my shelf until either my next yard sale or trip to Goodwill (though, why would I want to inflict this book on people).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s